Remembering and Honoring Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. with 2 songs

Dr. King’s favorite song: Mahalia Jackson “Take My Hand, Precious Lord” Martin Luther King Jr said, “A voice like hers comes along once in a millennium.” Dr. King often invited gospel singer Mahalia Jackson to sing it at civil rights rallies to inspire the crowds; at his request she sang it at his funeral in April 1968. King’s last words were, just before being shot, to play it at a mass he was attending the night of his assassination.

Nina Simone singing “Why? (The King of Love Is Dead)”

Take My Hand, Precious Lord Lyrics
Precious Lord, take my hand
Lead me on, let me stand
I am tired, I am weak, I am worn
Through the storm, through the night
Lead me on to the light
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home
When my way grows drear
Precious Lord linger near
When my life is almost gone
Hear my cry, hear my call
Hold my hand lest I fall
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home
When the darkness appears
And the night draws near
And the day is past and gone
At the river I stand
Guide my feet, hold my hand
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home
Precious Lord, take my hand
Lead me on, let me stand
I’m tired, I’m weak, I’m lone
Through the storm, through the night
Lead me on to the light
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home

 
“Take My Hand, Precious Lord” (aka “Precious Lord, Take My Hand”) is a gospel song. The lyrics were written by Rev. Thomas A. Dorsey (1899–1993), and the melody by George Nelson Allen (1812–1877).
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Take_My_Hand,_Precious_Lord

 

Nina Simone singing “Why? (The King of Love Is Dead)” Lyrics
why? (the king of love is dead)
by Gene Taylor
recorded by Nina Simone, 1967

Once upon this planet earth,
Lived a man of humble birth,
Preaching love and freedom for his fellow man,

He was dreaming of a day,
Peace would come to earth to stay,
And he spread this message all across the land.

Turn the other cheek he
Love thy neighbor was his creed,
Pain humiliation death, he did not dread

With his Bible at his side,
From his foes he did not hide,
It

Will the murders never cease,
Are thy men or are they beasts?
What do they ever hope, ever hope to gain?

Will my country fall, stand or fall?
Is it too late for us all?
And did Martin Luther King just die in vain?

Cos he
And he knew he could not stop,
Always living with the threat of death ahead.

Folks you
Cos we
What will happen now that he is dead?

He was for equality,
For all people you and me,
Full of love and good will, hate was not his way.

He was not a violent man.
Tell me folks if you can,
Just why, why was he shot down the other day?

Well see he
And he knew he could not stop,
Always living with the threat of death ahead.

Folks you
For we
What

 
Take my hand precious lord – Elvis Presley

 

 
 
 
 
 

About benvitalis

math grad - Interest: Number theory
This entry was posted in Culture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

